Social responsability

Employment

The Group’s recruitment policy is aimed at providing it with the best skills to support its development. 

As at 31 December 2016, the Group had 552 employees in eight countries ; the Gabonese subsidiary accounted for 63.5% of the total workforce.

Social relations

The quality of industrial relations within the Group is the result of dialogue between employees, their representatives and management. In the Group’s subsidiaries, dialogue is organised in accordance with applicable laws and regulations.


In Gabon, social dialogue is of particular importance. A Permanent Committee for Economic and Social Cooperation, pursuant to the country’s Labour Code, meets at least once a year. At these meetings, the employee representatives are presented with current budgets, budget forecasts, the company’s areas for development and recruitment needs. An Industrial Relations Organising Committee and the financial or technical backer of Maurel & Prom’s Gabonese subsidiary for social projects also take part in the social dialogue. 

In Tanzania, following the increase in activity in 2015, social dialogue has become more formalised. In August 2014, employees joined the Tanzania Mines, Energy, Construction and Allied Workers Union (TAMICO). A branch of the union was opened in 2015 in Mnazi Bay. Representatives from the union relay employees’ demands to the employer. If necessary, a three-party meeting is arranged, attended by employee, employer and union representatives.

In Colombia, social dialogue is promoted through monthly meetings of an occupational health and safety committee and quarterly meetings of a committee tasked with preventing workplace harassment. These committee meetings are opportunities for employees and employers to come together to discuss topics other than those solely related to occupational health and safety.

Health and Safety

Health and safety are a key Group concern. The Group is committed to continuing to improve working conditions, preventing risks and reducing nuisances, by implementing a “Health and Safety, Security, Environment and Quality” management programme, which is based on industrial best practices, in compliance with national regulations. 

Maurel & Prom’s Chief Operating Officer is responsible for the Group-wide implementation of the principles of the Group’s Safety, Environment and Quality Charter drawn up in 2006. In this respect, he defines the HSE policy, objectives and organisation for the Group.

The Group has also set up an HSE executive committee, chaired by Maurel & Prom’s Chief Executive Officer. It consists of the Group’s Chief Operating Officer, General Secretary and HSE Manager. This committee defines the Group’s HSE policy and objectives, revises the objectives when necessary, and monitors HSE performance and the corresponding action plans.

Since 2013 the Gabonese subsidiary has had its own Health & Safety policy covering health, safety and the environment. It commits Maurel & Prom Gabon’s executive management and its employees, partners and subcontractors to continuous improvement of performance. In 2015, the Health, Safety, Security and Environment departments were merged and placed under the responsibility of one person. In 2016, responsibility for this newly merged department was assigned to a person recruited locally. Collection and processing of HSSE performance indicators improved significantly. 

In 2015 the Tanzanian subsidiary continued to revise and upgrade HSE procedures with the support of external resources. The goal was for the local team to be independent and share the same Group HSE management system. In 2016, the Tanzanian subsidiary also began keeping comprehensive records of incidents and accidents; it started recording and monitoring corrective actions and introduced preventive action procedures.

Responsabilité sociale

Emploi

La politique de recrutement du Groupe vise à le doter des meilleures compétences pour accompagner son développement. 

Au 31 décembre 2016, le Groupe comptait 552 salariés répartis dans 8 pays ; la filiale gabonaise portait 63,5% des effectifs.

Relations sociales

La qualité du climat social au sein du Groupe est le fruit d’un dialogue entre les salariés, leurs représentants et la direction. Dans les filiales du Groupe, le dialogue s’organise conformément aux dispositions législatives et réglementaires applicables.

Au Gabon, le dialogue social revêt une importance particulière. Un Comité Permanent de Concertation Économique et Sociale, institué par le Code du travail, se réunit au moins une fois par an. Lors de ces réunions, les représentants du personnel se voient présenter les budgets en cours ainsi que les budgets prévisionnels, les axes de développement de l’entreprise et les besoins en recrutement. Le Comité d’Organisation des Œuvres Sociales et le soutien financier ou technique de la filiale gabonaise de Maurel & Prom à des projets sociaux participent également au dialogue social.

En Tanzanie, avec la croissance de l’activité réalisée en 2015, l’organisation du dialogue social s’est formalisée davantage. En août 2014, les salariés ont adhéré au syndicat Tanzania Mines, Energy, Construction and Allied Workers Union (TAMICO). Une section du syndicat a été ouverte en 2015 à Mnazi Bay. Les représentants du syndicat relaient les demandes des salariés auprès de l’employeur. Si cela est nécessaire, une réunion tripartite à laquelle participent les représentants des salariés, de l’employeur et du syndicat, est organisée.

En Colombie, le dialogue social est favorisé par la réunion mensuelle d’un comité de santé et de sécurité au travail et la tenue trimestrielle d’un comité de prévention du harcèlement au travail. Ces comités constituent des lieux d’échange entre salariés et employeurs au-delà des seuls sujets relatifs à la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Santé et sécurité

La santé et la sécurité sont une préoccupation essentielle du Groupe. Le Groupe s’attache à améliorer de façon continue les conditions de travail, à prévenir les risques et à réduire les nuisances, en mettant en œuvre un programme de gestion « Hygiène Santé Sécurité Environnement et Qualité », qui s’appuie sur les meilleures pratiques sectorielles, dans le respect des réglementations nationales.

Le directeur des opérations de Maurel & Prom est responsable de l’application au sein du Groupe des principes de la Charte Sécurité Environnement Qualité du Groupe établie en 2006. À cet égard, il définit la politique, les objectifs et l’organisation HSE pour le Groupe.

Le Groupe a également mis en place un comité exécutif HSE, présidé par le directeur général de Maurel & Prom. Il réunit le directeur des opérations du Groupe, le secrétaire général du Groupe et le responsable HSE du Groupe. Ce comité définit la politique et les objectifs HSE du Groupe, réoriente les objectifs en tant que de besoin, et suit les performances HSE et les plans d’actions correspondants.

La filiale gabonaise dispose depuis 2013 de sa propre politique Hygiène-Santé qui recouvre les domaines de l’hygiène, la santé, la sécurité et l’environnement. Elle engage la direction générale de Maurel & Prom Gabon, ses collaborateurs, ses partenaires et sous-traitants et a pour objet l’amélioration permanente de la performance. En 2015, les départements Hygiène santé sécurité et Environnement ont été fusionnés et placés sous la responsabilité d’une même personne. En 2016, la responsabilité du département ainsi fusionné a été confiée à une personne recrutée localement. La collecte et le traitement des indicateurs de performance EHS-S ont été significativement améliorés. 

En 2015, la filiale tanzanienne a poursuivi la révision et la mise à niveau des procédures HSE avec l’appui de ressources extérieures et s’est fixé pour objectif que l’équipe locale soit autonome et partage le socle commun du SMHSE Groupe. En 2016, la filiale tanzanienne a également mis en place une mémoire exhaustive des incidents et des accidents, une mémoire et le suivi des actions correctives et un système d’observations préventives.