Corporate responsability 

In the regions in which it operates, the Group contributes to developing employment at local level and plays a part in regional development. In terms of sustainable development, the Group is committed, both contractually, alongside national governments, to local development programmes, and on its own initiative, by being involved in projects identified by its subsidiaries.

The Group takes a proactive approach to local employment. Between 2010 and 2014, the Group created 1,291 temporary and 99 permanent jobs in Gabon. 

The policies with regard to local communities are developed with at Group subsidiary level and adapted to the countries in which they operate. In Colombia, Peru, Gabon and Tanzania, staff include a dedicated team to manage relations with the communities living near the sites.

In Gabon, the Group’s subsidiary contributes to the Local Communities Development Fund, which was created in 2010. The annual donation to the fund was US$1.2 million in 2015. The fund is administered by a four-party commission that consists of the Directorate-General for Hydrocarbons, Maurel & Prom Gabon, the local administrative authority and community representatives. In practice, the fund identifies programmes at local level, ensures their implementation and monitors them.
In addition to its contractual obligations, Maurel & Prom Gabon provides aid and assistance to populations, non-governmental organisations, and administrative and local authorities

In Colombia, support for local community development projects in 2015, as in 2014, focused on education and culture (to promote local culture), infrastructure (to design, build and maintain a drinking water supply system and a wastewater treatment system), and a system for hiring staff from local communities.

Responsabilité sociétale 

Dans les zones où il est implanté, le Groupe contribue à développer l’emploi au niveau local et participe au développement régional. En matière de développement durable, le Groupe s’engage, d’une part, de façon contractuelle, aux côtés des gouvernements nationaux, dans des programmes de développement local, et d’autre part, sur sa propre initiative, dans des projets identifiés par les filiales.

Le Groupe a une approche volontariste en matière d’emploi local. Entre 2010 et 2014, le Groupe a généré au Gabon 1 291 emplois temporaires et 99 emplois permanents.
Les politiques menées envers les communautés locales sont élaborées au niveau des filiales du Groupe et adaptées aux pays dans lesquels elles opèrent. En Colombie, au Pérou, au Gabon et en Tanzanie, les effectifs comptent une équipe dédiée à la gestion des relations avec les communautés vivant à proximité des sites.

Au Gabon, la filiale du Groupe participe au Fonds de Développement des Communautés Locales créé en 2010. La dotation annuelle de ce fonds est de 1,2 MUS$ en 2015. Ce fonds est administré par une commission quadripartite réunissant la Direction Générale des Hydrocarbures, Maurel & Prom Gabon, l’autorité administrative locale et le représentant des communautés. En pratique, le fonds identifie des programmes au niveau local, assure leur mise en oeuvre ainsi que leur suivi. 
Au-delà des obligations contractuelles, Maurel & Prom Gabon apporte aide et assistance aux populations, aux organisations non gouvernementales, aux administrations et aux collectivités locales.

En Colombie, les soutiens aux initiatives de développement des communautés locales ont porté en 2015, comme en 2014,  sur l’éducation et la culture (promotion de la culture locale), les infrastructures (soutien à la création, la construction et la maintenance d’un système d’approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées), ou encore le recrutement de personnel parmi les communautés locales.